HISTORY OF “COUNTRY ROADS” by JOHN DENVER

Here you can find all the information you need!

My purpose in preforming is to communicate the joy I experience in living — John Denver

“COUNTRY ROADS TAKE ME HOME” -lyrics
Almost heaven, West Virginia
Blue Ridge Mountains, Shenandoah River
Life is old there, older than the trees
Younger than the mountains, blowing like a breeze
Country roads, take me home
To the place I belong
West Virginia, mountain mama
Take me home, country roads
All my memories gather round her
Miner's lady, stranger to blue water
Dark and dusty, painted on the sky
Misty taste of moonshine, teardrop in my eye
Country roads, take me home
To the place I belong
West Virginia, mountain mama
Take me home, country roads
I hear her voice, in the morning hour she calls me
The radio reminds me of my home far away
And driving down the road I get a feeling
That I should have been home yesterday, yesterday
Country roads, take me home
To the place I belong
West Virginia, mountain mama
Take me home, country roads
Country roads, take me home
To the place I belong
West Virginia, mountain mama
Take me home, country roads
Take me home, down country roads
Take me home, down country roads

HISTORY OF THE SONG

Who wrote it?

Many people believe John Denver wrote the song “Country Roads, Take Me Home” himself, though this is not true. The true writers of this song are Bill and Taffy Danoff. They wrote most the song until Denver came and helped finish it. There was always lots of controversy on if Bill and Taffy got enough recognition for the song. People would say that Denver “stole” the song. What people didn’t realize is that John gave the Danoffs lots of recognition. The day after they all finished the song, they went to preform it together. Soon after they went to New York to record it, with Bill and Taffy as the back up vocals. They were definitely a big reason for this song going big and are recognized for it.

A-2709878-1382525483-4968.jpeg

What is the song about?

 The song “Country Roads, Take Me Home”, is about the country roads of West Virginia, which is weird considering Denver and the Danoff’s had never been to west Virginia. The inspiration came from postcards sent to Bill by a friend who did live there along with the AM radio station that came out of West Virginia. He had picked up the station in Massachusetts when he was growing up. Bill Danoff said in an interview in 2011, “I just thought the idea that I was hearing something so exotic to me from someplace as far away. West Virginia might as well have been in Europe, for all I knew.” This was Bill Danoffs inspiration for the idea of “Country Roads” leading to the sweet home of West Virginia. 

See the source image

Random historical facts. 
  • “Country Roads, Take Me Home” reached the #2 billboard spot for top songs
  • The song became the theme song from West Virginia University in 1972 along with being the unofficial anthem for West Virginia. 
  • When Denver was on his way to the Danoffs house to finish the song, he got in a car crash and was sent straight to the hospital. The second he got released he continues to go finish the song. 

JOHN DENVER BIOGRAPHY

John Denver was an amazing man both in his personal life and in his musical world. Not only was he considered the golden boy of folk music, but he was an amazing environmentalist and humanitarian. From when he was young and received his first guitar, to winning many awards , John Denver was extraordinary in the way he lived his life.  

HERE IS A LINK TO FULL BIOGRAPHY!! – https://www.biography.com/musician/john-denver

 

Video LINK!

 

HOW DID THE SONG INFLUENCE PEOPLE?

     “Country Roads, Take Me Home” became in my opinion one of the most influential songs. Specifically for small towns. It’s a song that brings people together, no matter the age. Personally I live in a small town, and everyone in the town knows this song. It brings people together at community events like football games, or even assemblies. This song is mostly influential to those who live in small country-like towns. I believe this is true because I have spoken to many people that live in different types of places, and most people that live in the city would say they don’t recognize the song. 
     This song is influential in the way that it brings people together. It’s almost powerful, in the sense that it unites the community. The song doesn’t even need to be playing, someone will just start singing. You can walk around and every once in a while hear, “to the place I belong, West Virginia”.  It is reassuring to communities as well as people looking in on small towns. There is something special that happens when the entire football stadium starts singing together. All people and all ages, from grandparents to grandchildren. “Country Roads” is a special song, and will be around for many.. many more years. 

 

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started